Anna Hazare and Zakir Hussain

Zakir Hussain and Pandharinath Kolhapure have been named for this year’s Master Deenath Mangeshkar Award for music, actor Rishi Kapoor for theatre and cinema and Anna Hazare for social awareness, renowned singer Lata Mangeshkar announced here Sunday.



Theatre personalities Dinesh Pedanekar and Mukta Barve, founders of Anamika and Rasika Sanstha, bagged the award for the best drama of the year, “Chapa Kata”, and Shivaji Satam was awarded for Marathi cinema and theatre.

The Miraj Vidyarthi Sangh’s Khare Vachan Mandir was selected in the social service category and anti-corruption activist Anna Hazare for social awareness.

Anand Yadav was named in the literature category, and Anant Dixit and Prakash Bal in the media category, said Lata Mangeshkar, who is trustee of the Master Deenanath Mangeshkar Smruti Pratisthan, Pune.

The awards shall be presented at a function April 24, which marks the death anniversary of Deenanath Mangeshkar, who passed away in 1942 at the young age of 41.

The award comprises Rs.1,01,001 in cash, a memento and citation.

Inputs by IANS


This error message is only visible to WordPress admins

Error: No feed found.

Please go to the Instagram Feed settings page to create a feed.